Left the Scene of an accident too soon?

//Left the Scene of an accident too soon?

Left the Scene of an accident too soon?

What happens when you are charged with a hit and run?

No one ever wants to be in a car accident of any kind, even a minor one. A small accident can cause minimal damage to your car, whereas a larger accident may result in serious injuries and even death. No matter the size of the accident, the driver needs to remain at the scene! If for any reason, a driver leaves the scene of an accident before there is any resolution, this driver could be charged with a hit and run. A hit and run is a crime.

In the state of California, a driver is responsible for taking care of the details of an accident for any and all accidents, no matter who’s fault it is, meaning whether you hit a car or was hit, you need to remain on scene. You need to stay on the scene until the accident has been handled.

If you leave the scene, whatever the scenario, you could be charged with hit and run. To identify themselves at the scene of an accident, a driver must stop their car, and provide the other parties involved with the accident with their identifying information.

This includes the driver’s:

  • Name.
  • Contact information.
  • Current address.
  • Driver’s License, upon request.
  • Vehicle registration, upon request.
  • The information of the vehicle’s owner, if the driver isn’t the owner.

Once this information has been given, the other party may leave the scene, if they are in a hurry to get somewhere. With this information provided, the other driver will be able to sort out the accident details, if any report is to be filed.

Another scenario is when you hit a parked car, it is courteous to leave a note with your information on their dashboard window, so they can fix any damage with their insurance. Doing all of this creates a record of the incident and shows that the driver tried to remedy the situation.

Penalties of Committing Hit and Run

Under California Vehicle Codes (VC) 20002 and 20001, hit and run crimes can either be charged as misdemeanors or as felonies. How the crime is charged is dependent on what was damaged during the car accident that the driver fled from. If property was damaged, then the driver will face misdemeanor charges. If a person was injured or killed, then the driver will face felony charges.

The consequences of VC 20002, misdemeanor hit and run, are:

  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • A jail sentence of up to 6 months.
  • 3 years informal probation.
  • 2 points on driver’s record.
  • Restitutions to victims.

The consequences of VC 20001, felony hit and run, are:

  • A fine between $1,000 and $10,000.
  • A prison stay of 3 or 4 years.
  • 2 points on driver’s record.
  • Restitutions to victims.

Let us know what you think of the California laws about driving and accidents related to driving? Please leave your opinions and questions in the comments down below.

By | 2019-04-30T17:51:30+00:00 April 30th, 2019|Categories: Blog|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment

Need Answers Fast? Click or Call –
We respond in minutes!

This Is A Custom Widget

This Sliding Bar can be switched on or off in theme options, and can take any widget you throw at it or even fill it with your custom HTML Code. Its perfect for grabbing the attention of your viewers. Choose between 1, 2, 3 or 4 columns, set the background color, widget divider color, activate transparency, a top border or fully disable it on desktop and mobile.
CALL US NOW